Who is Otto Wallin? Anthony Joshua’s next opponent who scared Tyson Fury

ANTHONY JOSHUA steps back into the ring for a fight that looks set to be a Christmas banger.

He will be pitted against Otto Wallin, a tricky southpaw who gave Tyson Fury a huge scare.

Otto Wallin is next for Anthony Joshua


Otto Wallin is next for Anthony JoshuaPhoto credit: Getty

Wallin fought Fury in Las Vegas in September 2019, and the Gypsy King’s heroic cut saved him that night.

The British heavyweight was caught by Wallin with a huge left hook that landed flush late in the third round of the fight.

At the end of the sixth round, the ring doctor was called to look at the cut.

Fury was forced to panic and increased his attacks for fear that it would be stopped.

He fought his way to a points victory, but not without suffering some shock from the brave Swede.

Tyson Fury suffered a horrific cut in his fight against Otto Wallin


Tyson Fury suffered a horrific cut in his fight against Otto WallinPhoto credit: Getty

Who is Otto Wallin?

Otto Wallin is a Swedish heavyweight boxer who will face Anthony Joshua on December 23rd.

He was born on November 21, 1990, making him 32 years old.

Before turning pro, Wallin had a long amateur career, including fighting Joshua twice before both men moved up to the professional ranks.

However, the Swede was on the losing side at points in both fights – the Haringey Box Cup final in 2010 and Stockholm 2011.

He ended up compiling an amateur record of 34-12 before turning pro in 2013.

Wallin's only professional loss was against Tyson Fury


Wallin’s only professional loss was against Tyson FuryPhoto credit: Getty

What is Otto Wallin’s boxing record?

Otto Wallin has a professional record of 26 wins, 1 loss and 1 no-contest from his 28 fights.

He has won 14 of them by knockout.

The only defeat on Wallin’s record was against Fury.

Wallin was scheduled to fight Dillian Whyte in October 2021, but the fight was canceled after Whyte suffered a shoulder injury beforehand.

Otto Wallin’s last 10 fights

September 30, 2023 – Murat Gassiev (WON – split decision)
January 27, 2023 – Helaman Olguin (WON – unanimous decision)
May 26, 2022 – Rydell Booker (WON – unanimous decision)
February 5, 2022 – Kamil Sokolowski (WON – Points 8th)
February 20, 2021 – Dominic Breazeale (WON – unanimous decision)
August 15, 2020 – Travis Kauffman (WON – TKO round five)
September 14, 2019 – Tyson Fury (LOST – unanimous decision)
April 13, 2019 – Nick Kisner (no contest after Kisner was cut off by an accidental headbutt)
April 21, 2018 – Adrian Granat (WON – unanimous decision)
January 27, 2018 – Srdan Govedarica (WON – KO round three)

Olly Dawes

Olly Dawes is a Nytimas U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. Olly Dawes joined Nytimas in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing: ollydawes@nytimas.com.

Related Articles

Back to top button